Mission Experience–Retreat

“Come ye yourselves apart…and rest awhile.” Mark 6:31

Once the meetings were completed, our team went on a retreat for a few days to the island of Modessa. (Formerly known as Coco Loco.) It was such a blessing to have some time to just relax and remember all the amazing ways in which God had blessed us over the past few weeks.

I don’t really know what I could say about our retreat that would interest the average person (I could say a whole lot of things that would interest anyone who was there!), but I shall share a few of the pictures that I took…In hopes that they will be more interesting than words. 🙂

Right outside my cabin....

Right outside my cabin….

My "someone else is in the shower and I have nothing else to do" project. :)

My “someone else is in the shower and I have nothing else to do” project. 🙂

So, so beautiful!

So, so beautiful!

A terrifying crab. lol (Not my hand, by the way.)

A terrifying crab. lol (Not my hand, by the way.)

Researching the species of fish spotted while swimming/snorkeling/diving. I went snorkeling once, but decided against repeat attempts. (After filling my lungs with water out over the absolutely gorgeous coral.)

Researching the species of fish spotted while swimming/snorkeling/diving. I went snorkeling once, but decided against repeat attempts. (After filling my lungs with water out over the absolutely gorgeous coral.)

Perfect place for an afternoon nap. ;)

Perfect place for an afternoon nap. 😉

Just about time for breakfast....

Just about time for breakfast….

Most of us did a lot of swimming (myself not included).

Most of us did a lot of swimming (myself not included).

DSCF4934

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So that’s a brief pictorial version of a couple days of R&R. 🙂 God blessed us in so many ways during our time in the Philippines. The largest way, for me, being my experience with complete reliance–and perfect resting–upon God. Remember when I wrote about visitations? I couldn’t stop marveling at how God used me to do something I frankly wasn’t even willing to do. But I did it because I had to and God blessed. He gave me a desire to grow…a desire to share. And for that I am eternally grateful!

 

As we left Modessa there was quite a lot of wishing going on. Wishing that it didn’t have to end. Wishing that we could hang out and evangelize with each other for ever and ever…But we had a few more hours for memory making….

 

Headed off to the mall...

Headed off to the mall…

The ONE (and I mean singular one) serious moment of our meal in the Taipei airport. Ellie and I were laughing hysterically over our failed attempts at eating with chopsticks. LOL ;)

The ONE (and I mean singular one) serious moment of our meal in the Taipei airport. Ellie and I were laughing hysterically over our failed attempts at eating with chopsticks. LOL 😉

Who knew toy stores could entertain a group of people 15+? That store, with all it's fascinating legos, was SO MUCH FUN!!!

Who knew toy stores could entertain a group of people 15+?

It looked like so much fun, but the sign said that we were too old. :( lol

It looked like so much fun, but the sign said that we were too old. 😦 lol

The sad goodbyes as the rest of our west coast group flew on to Seattle. I waited another couple hours and then caught my flight home.

The sad goodbyes as the rest of our west coast group flew on to Seattle. I waited another couple hours and then caught my flight home.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All too soon it was all over and I had to leave the group in Los Angeles, CA airport on my flight to Medford, OR. It was a super sad goodbye, only slightly helped by the fact that one day we shall all meet again…If not here on earth, then in the courts above.

May we all remain faithful!

Heavenbound!
Samantha

One thought on “Mission Experience–Retreat

  1. Pingback: Mission Experience--Retreat

Leave a Reply

