My First Sermon

Written October 22, 2012

It was a lovely Sabbath afternoon. My brother and I were out hiking with some church friends in the beautiful Oregon countryside. Most of the group was enjoying the walk and scenery with Mrs. Witcombe, our Pastor’s wife, but Jonathon and I had opted for walking faster and enjoying pleasant conversation with the Pastor. Pastor Witcombe decided that perhaps it would be a good idea to stop and rest awhile so that the rest of the group could catch up a bit. Well, as we stood there Pastor mentioned that he would like Jonathon to do a sermon at our church sometime. This was an okay conversation–I agreed, he should! As the group caught up that specific subject was dropped, but as we started walking again Pastor said “You should do it too, Samantha!” Ummm…bad turn of events! In my mind, I was thinking “NO WAY!”

Fast forward about a year. I’m spending time on my knees Sabbath morning, my 16th birthday. This really is a long story, but I’ll summarize it for you. (Watch the video linked to at the end of this post for the whole story. 😉 ) For a couple years now I’ve struggled with the subject of music. This specific morning I’d been battling with God as He prompted me to destroy the last bits of it that were still in my life. When, at last, I surrendered I was at such peace that I told God that there was nothing that could keep me from sharing it. Ummm…remember the story this post started with???

So, I gave in and wrote my first sermon. After a couple weeks of “Am I sure I want to do this???” I wrote an email to my Pastor asking if he still wanted me to do that. Silly question. His response? “Yes indeed!” 🙂

He got me put into the schedule and last week I shared my first sermon. I was nervous at first, but by the time I stood up-God had put His peace in my heart. He always blesses when we submit our lives to Him and follow His guidance! What an awesome God we serve!

If you’re interested in listening to the message, it’s on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

