Mission Experience 2013

Wow! I haven’t written a post in nearly a month! Oh, all my dreams of keeping my blog regularly updated are harder to fulfil than I thought they’d be! I can assure you, though, that the lack of posts absolutely does not reflect a lack of excitement! The most exciting of which has to do with Young Disciple’s Mission Experience (ME).

It was Monday, a couple weeks ago, when the phone rang. I was the only one in the house at the moment, and therefore ran to answer it. I wasn’t sure my voice would work too well, but decided that I may as well try. You see, many of the YD campers got sick this year, and I was among those sick ones. Well, when I answered the phone it was one of the last people I’d expected to hear from…Namely, Ted Evert.

It was a slightly odd and awkward phone call. My voice didn’t even work enough to say my usual phone greeting, and I only barely managed to say a few words during the rest of the “conversation”. He told me it was alright-he understood, and many campers weren’t feeling well-and then verified who he was speaking to. When I first heard his voice I imediately thought “Mission Experience”, but I was quite nervous thinking it probably was to tell me that the few remaining spaces had already been filled. I actually was thinking that I’d be relieved if that’s what they had decided, but also quite disappointed.  Mr. Ted did finally tell me the purpose of his call, after I’d tried clearing my throat to speak, and seriously failed…The way I explain my response is this, “I answered the phone and my voice wouldn’t work, he told me his purpose for calling and my brain wouldn’t work!” 🙂 I am accepted! And very excited! All I managed to say was “awesome”…And after he told me the usual “if you need anything, or have any questions, we’ll be here” the one-sided phone call ended and I went to my room, fell on my knees, and asked God how it could possibly be true. Questions flooded my mind.

Is it really possible that I, Samantha, am going on a mission trip??

Aren’t there other youth out there who are better prepared??

Did I really realize what I was getting into when I said “I will go” ??

And beyond all that, how am I going to raise over $2000 towards ME expenses??????

 

I am now working on the fundraising part of this trip. Praying and asking God to provide.

Here’s the basic explanation of what Mission Experience 2013 is…A youth-led evangelistic series in the Philippines, reaching dear people for Christ.

 

We’ll be leaving the US on March 25 and returning on April 25, 2013. I would really appreciate your prayers, now as I’m (and many other youth are) fundraising, but most importantly while we are overseas. I’ve never been overseas before, and it sounds a bit scary.

 

I am going to need the help of all who are able. In order to reach my goal I will  need to raise a minimun (I’d love to raise more!) of $2, 200 towards the expenses of the trip. Half of that must have been reached by October 15. I have plans to do some Literature Evangelism here in my local town, soon, and by God’s grace that will be helpful in reaching my goal. It’s exciting to me: doing outreach twice! Selling books with precious gospel truths in them, to raise money to go and share the same truth with others!

 

If you would like to help financially, I would also really appreciate that. You can send your check directly to Young Disciple Ministries, (made out to: Young Disciple Ministries), PO Box 400, Inchelium, WA 99138. And please write my name, Samantha Edeliant, in the memo field so that they can keep track of how close I’m getting to my goal.

 

Let’s all do our part to hasten Christ’s second coming!

 

‘Till next time,

Samantha

One thought on “Mission Experience 2013

  1. Pingback: Quick Update | Musical Mantha

Leave a Reply

