Brokenness Made Beautiful

I thought I’d share a poem that my friend wrote… 🙂

~~~~Brokenness Made Beautiful ~~~~

Before I can be mended
I must first be humbled, broken, and bended
To live in newness “I” must die
Till in a still, submitted state my heart lies
Bowed in awe, bowed in reverence, and utter dependence
Self effort exhausted and drawn to true repentance
Humbled under God’s mighty, sovereign hand
Yielded to His will even when I don’t understand
Brokenness made beautiful!

It is a perplexity how God can renew that past been shattered
And pick up the pathetic pieces of a life, long been scattered
God doesn’t waste the pain, for life it all is gain
No cost for His love, and there’s no charge for His expertise
Only may His praise and honor in my heart increase
Brokenness made beautiful!

Brokenness brings wholeness and far exceeds the original design
For He makes from the debris something useful and divine
To be gathered by the Savior, rebuilt by my Tender Friend
Is to be formed in grace to what from the beginning for my life He did intend
Brokenness made beautiful!

When I am broken I know I cannot fix my own
Now the healing power of Jesus through my life has now been shown
What was torn has been rebuilt to more glorious than before
What now what is seen is beauty and ample is in store
This is, Brokenness Made Beautiful!

~Kaylene Mikels

Leave a Reply

