Weekly Photo Challenge: Peaceful

Airplane pic of the sky

There was peace knowing God had full control!

You may be thinking “Sure, it’s pretty-but peaceful? I’m not so sure!”.  Well, I understand so I’m going to tell you a story….

It was July 2011.  I had a very strong desire to go to Young Disciple Youth Bible Camp in Inchelium, WA. This desire was more that just a “desire” it was a long-lived dream-probably since about 2007 or ’08.

There was a problem, though.  YD (Young Disciple) camp is in July and it was already that month!  I’d brought the idea up to my parents and they had told me that I wouldn’t be able to go that year-maybe next.

I’d gone to bed and I laid down (crying wondering if my dreams would *ever* come true, begging God to change my parents’ practical minds) I heard my Dad calling my name. That kind of worried me because I…uhh…was a bit upset and had been yelling in a slightly grumpy way the things I could be thankful for–I was trying to change my attitude about life (and I was surely a bit sarcastic in my words…).  Well I shouldn’t have worried (and my attitude quickly changed)!  As soon as I came into their room my parents started asking why I wanted to go to camp, what the purpose was, and if I had plans about how to pay for it.  I left their room that night-two weeks before Missions/Music camp-with permission to go if God saw fit to provide the way.

There was a LOT to be done!  I’d need to be accepted by Young Disciple as a camper, purchase a plane ticket, and most of all raise money!  Long two-week story short my friends and family all helped out what they could and I just wasn’t quite making it.  It was Tuesday the week before camp and I was still hundreds of dollars short.  In Tuesday’s mail I got two letters (okay, one was addressed to my parents) one was the results from a recent homeschooling test I’d taken and the other was from a friend of ours.  The only reason I mention the test results is because I’d been really worried about my scores-I was sure I *couldn’t* have passed a couple of the sections.  Anyway in the letter from our friends was $400 and I passed the test in all sections with almost the highest grade possible!!  I was *so* excited! 🙂

In the next few short days I purchased that airplane ticket, I was accepted by Young Disciple as a camper, and I praised God for His wonderful love.

In the airport I was no less than scared after my Dad dropped me off and left.  I was all alone in a place I’d never been to before-and I had a slight fear of not knowing what I was supposed to do and missing my flight or something.  I’d brought my Bible in my carry-on bag so I got that out and opened to the book of Psalms.  Here’s what I read:

O LORD, thou hast searched me, and known me.

Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off.

Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways.

For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O LORD, thou knowest it altogether.

Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence?

If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there.

If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea;

Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me.

If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me.

Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee. —Psalms 139:1-4, 7-12

So to me this was peaceful. I took it during the flight to YD. To me it showed the fulfillment of a promise: “Ask and it shall be given you“.  And as we soared through the air I couldn’t help but think “Above the clouds the sun is ever shining!”  (It’s one of my favorite songs!)  God’s love is awesome and it shines even through the clouds! 🙂

And yes, I had lots of fun at camp! (Sorry I couldn’t take very many pictures… 😦 ) If you’d like to see the pictures that camp staff took you can look here, they are not all from Music/Missions (there are two weeks of camp-the first is Outdoors Camp) photo 95 is my unit I’m on the far left from the viewer’s point of view…. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Peaceful

  1. What a great story! Thank you for sharing it. It was really inspirational. Sometimes it can be hard to have faith–I’m there right now–but stories like yours give me courage!

    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

